Tennis, Twitter and the US Open

Players at the US Open have been sent a warning that their messages on Twitter could break rules that ban the revelation of inside information. The Tennis Integrity Unit’s notification read: “However popular [Twitter] is, it is important to warn you of some of the dangers posed by Twittering as it relates to the Tennis Anti-Corruption Program Rules.” Andy Roddick has already tweeted his opinion on the matter.

At Wimbledon this year, it felt like every press conference had at least one Twitter-related question. The press grilled Andy Roddick on his taste in music after his wife revealed on Twitter his love of Rick Astley. Andy Murray was questioned on the forfeits he would Tweet about. And yours truly even asked Serena Williams about tweeting mid-match: “Maybe I’ll send a tweet from my chair when I’m playing,” she replied. “Gosh, I shouldn’t have lost that game! But I think the umpire will probably stop me thinking I’m getting coached.  But, you know, I’m really, you know, into that. Mostly because I want my fans to be able to relate to me. You know, actually I love people going to my website ’cause it’s so fun and so interactive. You know, there’s just another way to get the traffic there. So my fans can know exactly what to expect.”

Twitter and tennis work well together because, at the end of the day, it’s an individual sport. Tennis players spend a lot of time sitting around, travelling and generally being alone. Twitter allows them to communicate with their fans without having to go through the media.

From Wimbledon’s point of view we used Twitter extensively at this year’s Championships. When Rafael Nadal told a press conference that he was pulling out of the tournament we tweeted his comments seconds later, we also covered the draw and several matches – including all the semi-finals and finals live on Twitter.  You can read some of our favourite Twitter moments here.

Here’s a list of tennis of Twitter – Are there any more accounts that you know of?

Wimbledon
Wimbledon
No 1 Court
Centre Court

The Grand Slams
Australian Open
French Open
US Open

Players
Serena Williams
Laura Robson
Venus Williams
Liezel Huber
Sabine Lisicki
Anne Keothavong
Edina Gallovits
Bryan brothers
Casey Dellacqua
Andy Roddick
Andy Murray
Robin Soderling
Sam Querrey

Retired players
Justin Gimelstob
Jeff Tarango
Tim Henman
Jim Courier

4 Comments

  1. Posted 2 September, 2009 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    Mark Petchey is up and running now:
    http://twitter.com/petchtennis

  2. Posted 3 September, 2009 at 11:10 am | Permalink

    I don’t understand what the problem is.
    Its not like tennis is the pentagon or something. What “Insider information” could be released? Before we know it players will be replaced with robots that are controlled by the US open. Oh wait that’s already happening Read – tennis ball machines

  3. Posted 3 September, 2009 at 3:42 pm | Permalink

    I don’t get it either. It’s like the USTA wants the tennis players involved with their fans but they are regulating what and where they can say things. I think it’s great that twitter allows the players to express themselves so us fans can catch up on the real them. It’s weird to me. Let them Tweet!

  4. Jess
    Posted 7 September, 2009 at 1:24 pm | Permalink

    more players on twitter:
    Jesse Levine
    http://twitter.com/jesselevine7
    Devin Britton
    http://twitter.com/DevinBritton
    Amer Delic
    http://twitter.com/AmerDelic
    Rajeev Ram
    http://twitter.com/RajeevRam


Post a Comment

