HSBC Road to Wimbledon winners

The winners of the nationwide junior tennis tournament, the HSBC Road to Wimbledon, were decided on the grass courts at the All England Club on Saturday.

The boys’ winner was Ryan Frankel, a 14-year-old from Dorset who beat Yorkshire’s Peter Ashley 6-7 (2), 7-5, 6-1. “It’s really been a great experience. I’ve wanted to play here since I was young and to finally do it is great,” he said. “I’ve played on grass before, but nothing quite like this.”

Kim Schmider collected the Girls Singles and Doubles trophies after a fantastic week. “I’ve had such a great time here. To play at Wimbledon is an amazing experience and to win on my birthday makes it even more special, I played well in the final, both sets were close in the beginning but I managed to get ahead and win.”

The winners were:
Boys singles: Ryan Frankel
Girls singles: Kim Schmider
Boys doubles: Joseph Hill and Simon Pritchard
Girls doubles: Amy Leiu and Kim Schmider
Boys consolation (singles): Oliver Walkden
Girls consolation (singles): Kelly Burge

Post a Comment

