Highlights of Junior Wimbledon 2009

Going into the 2009 Junior Wimbledon tournament, a lot of the pre-event talk was about 2008 girl’s champion, Laura Robson of Britain and whether she would be able to win two junior titles in a row. Her main opposition looked likely to be the player she defeated in the 2008 final, Noppawan Lertcheewakarn of Thailand.

2008 runner-up escapes early exit (29 June)

Noppawan Lertcheewakarn of Thailand faced match points in the ninth and tenth games of the third set in her opening match but held her nerve keeping her opponent on the move with her ferocious cross court ground strokes, to eventually hold serve, and take four games in a row to win the match.

Last year’s runner-up remained in The 2009 Championships after clawing her way back from the nightmare, break back or go out scenario, her opponent inflicted on her before going on to win 3-6, 6-3, 7-5.

Lemoine squeezes out Robson (1 July)

Laura Robson’s defence of her girls singles title ended in the third round as the unseeded Quirine Lemoine of the Netherlands won a hard-fought victory 6-2, 4-6, 8-6.

Robson struggled throughout the match with a niggling back injury that required the attention of the physiotherapist after just three games, but still put on a spirited display in front of an animated home crowd.

Kuznetsov defeats Tomic to make final (3 July)

Unseeded Russian Andrey Kuznetsov battled hard for two sets to defeat Bernard Tomic, the number three seed 6-3, 7-6, (7-5) in the semi-final.

The court 18 crowd witnessed a calm and measured performance by the Russian who has dropped just one set (a tiebreak in the opening set of his first round match) to reach the final.

Tomic started poorly and although he showed his huge potential in patches today, Kuznetsov was to be congratulated for not allowing Tomic to dictate the points by being aggressive at the base line, coming to the net occasionally and serving close to the lines.

Cox wins all-American semi (3 July)

Jordan Cox briefly put friendship to one side to book his place in the final of the boys’ singles tournament after a thrilling 6-3, 6-7 (5-7), 16-14 victory over doubles partner Devin Britton.

In an epic two and a half hour all-American encounter, Cox emerged as the eventual victor and remained on course to follow in the footsteps of former boys’ champions Pat Cash, Stefan Edberg and Roger Federer.

Thai girl wins Wimbledon title (4 July)

Noppawan Lertcheewakarn was crowned the 2009 Junior Girls’ Champion after defeating Kristina Mladenovic in three sets 3-6, 6-3, 6-1.

“I spoke to my parents and they are very happy. I can’t wait to get back to Thailand. But first I want to do some shopping here, and go to Wimbledon Village. Mladenovic is a very good player and is qualifying for senior events like me so its great to have won today. Last year I was just excited to be in the final, I never expected to get there. This year I just wanted to win as it is my last year in the juniors.”

Kuznetsov crowned boys’ champion (5 July)

The boy’s singles trophy headed east once again after unseeded Andrey Kuznetsov of Russia beat Jordan Cox to win the title a year on from Bulgarian Grigor Dimitrov’s triumph.

Kuznetsov remained composed to overturn a one-set deficit against the American qualifier and ran out a 4-6, 6-2, 6-2 winner.

Speaking after his triumph Kuznetsov said: “I still can’t believe that I made it. So I feel good. I think this is the best win in my life, best victory.”

“I was nervous yesterday a lot, but today before the match it was not so much. But when I step on the court, it makes stronger. In the second set I relax a little and I began to play better, then just used my chances and win this match.”

Post a Comment

