Meet Ana, world junior number two and Wimbledon blogger

Ana Bogdan

Meet Ana Bogdan, who is 16 years old and ranked number two in the world for junior tennis (click here to see her ITF profile). She will be playing at Junior Wimbledon this year and will be writing the occasional blog for us. We hope you enjoy her insights.

Hello everyone!!

My name is Ana Bogdan, I am a junior tennis player. I live in a small town, called Sinaia, which is a one of the most popular Romanian tourist resorts near the Bucegi Mountains.

I started playing tennis when I was eight years old. My dad is a ski teacher and at the beginning, when I was two years old, he tried to make me become a professional skier. But unfortunately the snow in Sinaia came too late and I couldn’t prepare for the championships so my dad decided to try another sport with me. In the end he said I will play tennis because it is a sport that can be played the whole year.

I had my first tennis lessons at eight years old. I started with a coach but when I started to playing on the ITF Junior Circuit my dad said that he was going to coach me. We bought a ball machine and that’s the way I practice when I am at home. It has been six years since I started playing with the ball machine.

At the moment I am number two in the world on the Junior Circuit. I have also played some women’s tournaments, but not too many because I want to focus on junior tennis and to become number one and to win a Grand Slam.

I had a great experience recently when I was offered a Wild Card into the qualifying at the Masters in Madrid. It was my first WTA tournament and it was a great feeling for me to meet all the big tennis champions and to have a chance to play in such a big tournament. This year I will try to play as many women’s tournaments as I can because I want to improve my WTA ranking and to get into the Top 300 WTA.

It is a pleasure for me to contribute to the Wimbledon blog. So as much as I can, I will do it. My time is limited because of my daily schedule, but I am really happy to have this chance to keep in touch with the people and to share a bit of my life with you.

I think Wimbledon is the most prestigious tennis tournament in the world. It is a tournament full of history and, in my opinion, it is the most special tennis tournament because of its traditions: the all-white dress code for competitors, the royal patronage and, the surface on which we play.

I am really excited to have this chance to compete at the Wimbledon Championships and in all of the Grand Slams. It has been really hard work to get here, but it shows that if you work hard, if you are confident in yourself, you are an open-minded person and you know your goals in your life, you can become part of history. I think that’s what every tennis player wants.

I am looking forward to playing at the Wimbledon Championships this year and also to keeping in touch with you! It is a big pleasure for me to write on the Wimbledon blog and I hope I can do it again very soon!!

Best regards,

Ana

8 Comments

  1. Posted 19 May, 2009 at 11:08 am | Permalink

    Felicitari pentru tot ce ai realizat pana acum si mult, mult succes la Wimbledon. Am jucat si eu tenis cu multi ani in urma la Sc.Sportiva din Ploiesti (iar toate vacantele mi le-am petrecut la Poiana-Tapului unde locuiau bunicii mei)si dupa ce am depasit varsta competitiilor am continuat sa joc (m-am oprit acum cativa ani din cauza unei probleme cardiace). Acum urmaresc tot ce este mai interesant in tenis, se pare ca “microbul tenisului ” nu moare asa usor. Inca o data, multe victorii si numai bine,
    Dana

  2. Posted 19 May, 2009 at 12:48 pm | Permalink

    Good luck! Buena suerte!

  3. Anca
    Posted 19 May, 2009 at 1:59 pm | Permalink

    Bafta multa, Ana!

  4. Nilhenwen
    Posted 19 May, 2009 at 6:56 pm | Permalink

    Awesome, I hope you enjoy it, and good luck! =D

  5. liilly
    Posted 19 May, 2009 at 9:16 pm | Permalink

    congratulations i saw you in december iin casablanca cup & then iin a hotel party hehe

  6. SAIFUDDIN
    Posted 20 May, 2009 at 3:11 am | Permalink

    I HOPE YOU WILL WIN THE JUNIOR WIMBLEDON TITLE AT ALL ENGLAND CLUB

  7. syotaro
    Posted 21 May, 2009 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

    Good luck!!
    You will win, I believe.

  8. Posted 27 July, 2010 at 5:18 pm | Permalink

    I really wish her the best and I think she’ll be one of the great ones


Post a Comment

