Agassi tips Andy Murray for Grand Slam success

Andy Murray has the pedigree to become a multiple Grand Slam winner, according to former Wimbledon champion Andre Agassi.

Speaking to the press ahead of Sunday’s Centre Court Celebration event, the American dismissed the notion that the Scot wasn’t ready yet for a Grand Slam victory.

“I think he will win multiple Grand Slams. His game has impressed me tremendously,” the American said.

Agassi credited Murray’s movement on court, his ability to absorb pace, his comprehension of the court and his sense of ‘where he is’.

“That’s the kind of game that translates against a lot of different types of players which will work for him throughout his career,” he pointed out. “I don’t think it’s too early for him. I have seen him grow a lot mentally over the last couple of years.”

I think he [Murray] will win multiple Grand Slams. His game has impressed me tremendously.
Andre Agassi

The 1992 Wimbledon Champion added that the world No.3  Murray was most likely to lift the trophies at the Australian and US Open events. “I think he’s got the game to do it,” he said.

Tim Henman also praised Britain’s best hope. “If you look at the last 11 months Andy’s results have been fantastic. He has grown at every stage. There’s a big difference mentally on court. He’s much calmer. He’s got the confidence from the wins he’s had. He’s got a very, very good chance. I would put Federer and Nadal slightly ahead of him but he would definitely be my third.”

Agassi, meanwhile, said that world number one Rafael Nadal had a good chance to complete the Grand Slam this year, describing him as a ‘first class competitor’.

One Comment

  1. Roro
    Posted 19 May, 2009 at 12:11 am | Permalink

    HEY MUrray I think it willbe very difficult of you to win Wimbeldon as Roger is still playing


Post a Comment

