Agassi, Henman and Clijsters looking forward to Centre Court Celebration

Kim Clijsters, Ian Ritchie, Tim Henman and Andre Agassi

Kim Clijsters, Ian Ritchie, Tim Henman and Andre Agassi

Andre Agassi is excited to be partnering wife Steffi for Sunday’s Centre Court Celebration.

The 1992 Wimbledon champion revealed how he and his spouse jumped at the chance to play in the one-off event when they received the call last autumn.

“This is an honour to be part of history here… [Wimbledon] meant a lot to us in our lives. It was the scene of my first triumph and a place that Steffi has grown to love immensely in her life.”

Looking ahead to their encounter against Tim Henman and Kim Clijsters tomorrow he quipped: “We will try to keep marital scraps out of it’.

“I am just glad when I am out there with her because she makes me look better and feel better,” Agassi said. “It’s exciting. It’s fun to get out there and hit balls with her because we get to mix it with our normal everyday life which is fun. On the court you sort of get nervous for the other one more than you would for a normal partner.”

I tried to play more leading up to this, just to wake up a few parts that are eternally in a coma.
Andre Agassi

Henman will face Agassi while Clijsters will take on Graf and all the players were delighted at being invited to play in the historic event.

“I’ve always treated Wimbledon with a lot of respect and I’m just very glad I was a part of the pre-roof Wimbledon,” Clijsters said. “To be a part of it now is a real honour for me and I’m excited about going out there tomorrow.”

Henman, meanwhile, has had a sneaky practice on the hallowed turf already. “I think the roof is a fantastic addition,” he said. “We were there on the courts last week late a night, about 9pm, and with the roof closed and the lights on. It was fantastic to be out there. It’s going to be even better when it’s full.”

Asked about his match preparation Agassi admitted he had not treaded the court boards much in the past two years. “I tried to play more leading up to this, just to wake up a few parts that are eternally in a coma. A couple of injections here and there. [I haven’t played] very much over the past two years.”

He later joked: “I made the decision to say yes and I immediately got out on the practice court. A month later I heard it was going to be Tim and I stopped practising.”

5 Comments

  1. Carin Connolly
    Posted 16 May, 2009 at 7:40 pm | Permalink

    I think this is going to be a wonderful match, I am a great fan of both Andre and Steffi.

  2. Nancy
    Posted 17 May, 2009 at 4:52 pm | Permalink

    Agassi and Steffi…..so glad to see you on the court again.

  3. Posted 19 May, 2009 at 12:56 am | Permalink

    I saw only the set between Clijsters and Graff and the end of the celebration on the Tennis Channel in the USA. Will the entire event be televised again?

  4. jean
    Posted 19 May, 2009 at 8:38 pm | Permalink

    how fantastic to see Andre &Steffi playing together on Sunday i think they should come back next year to mark thefirst year of the Roof being celebrated it would be a treat for alltennis fans

  5. jean
    Posted 19 May, 2009 at 8:45 pm | Permalink

    Andre & steffi were great to see at Sundays Celebrations also kim &tim would be nice to have themback next year one can only wish


Post a Comment

