Wimbledon fashion flashback: No.2

Maria Kirilenko

In 2006 Maria Kirilenko became the first player in 50 years to be clothed by a designer at Wimbledon when she wore an outfit by Stella McCartney. The Beatles offspring described the outfit as having a “cheeky femininity”. The skirt had three little rows of pleats, ra-ra style, buttons bearing the phrase ‘I’m fit’ and a pocket not large enough to hold tennis balls.


“I feel privileged that Stella asked me to do it as I have always loved fashion,” the 19-year-old Russian said. “All teenage girls like to look good and tennis players are no different. I feel I have everything any female tennis player dreams about – great-looking products that actually perform. I have had some say in the clothes because I need to feel good on the court. We’ve been using the latest technology to keep me cool out there.”

Kirilenko also appeared in the recent Sports Illustrated Swimsuit issue with Daniela Hantuchova and Tatiana Golovin in a pictoral entitled ‘Volley of the Dolls’.

Kirilenko is a regular on lists of best-dressed players, what do you think?

Maria Kirilenko

3 Comments

  1. L
    Posted 11 May, 2009 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    i love it<3

  2. Posted 18 February, 2010 at 10:38 am | Permalink

    I’m all for fashion but the ruffled skirt is a bit much!

  3. Posted 17 November, 2010 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    That ruffled skirt definitely needs to go. I know white is the traditional color of tennis players but geese, some colour would not hurt.


Post a Comment

